Lost In My Own Back Yard, the final piece…

As I mentioned in a previous post, I had a lot of difficulty getting back into Fine Art and painting, after building most of the project around my photography. I just couldn’t get it. The most frustrating part was chopping my photos down, and combining fragments of each. To me, this has never made much sense – especially because of the way I take my photos.

Whereas a lot of primary source photographs are taken as reference for painting later, I take the photo with the intention of it being a stand-alone piece of work. I take into consideration my composition quite carefully – even in the early stages of a project. I have fought this idea on pretty much every project that I have done, and whether or not this is a good thing is yet to be decided. Last year’s exam topic, for instance, was on the theme of “Rhythms and Cycles”, and I had a focus on skateboarding and music throughout the project, and also showing my own personal cycle of everyday life – my journeying to and from school, etc. For my final piece, I had to figure out how to combine different images, and in such a way that they would fill the frame effectively. Easier said than done. Below is my final piece for Rhythms and Cycles….in which I combined three separate photos – the top left was an on-the-spot idea, as I had tried several other options, but went for something new on the exam day.

This factor became even more of a sticking-point when it came to a final piece – as a range of images and ideas are needed to gain the most credit. The only problem was – I had taken every single photo – with the exception of a few – carefully considering the photographers work and trying to replicate that style. By setting up the shot and composition in a similar style to Kientzle or Adams, their influence became clear through the end photograph.

Finally, I settled on a photo that I could de-construct just enough to get the piece done. I’m quite pleased with it so far, but I’m not sure what’s going to fill the bottom corner.

(Sorry this photo is not so great. It turns out that the combination of pen and pencil sat on top of acrylics really likes the light!)*

*I will edit this post when I have figured out how to do the piece justice with a camera. =’]

Leave a Reply

