Lost In My Own Backyard.

.

Starting last September (2010), we were given free choice of a theme for our Personal Study. I knew from the start that I wanted to photography, and luckily, my teachers thought the idea would work, as long as I didn’t wander off too far from Fine Art. I chose to use Black & White photography as a starting point, but by December I was having difficulty stepping back into Fine Art mode. I fell out with the idea of just drawing (or painting) from my photos for the sake of drawing, and was clawing at a theme, something that was a bit more definite than the whole of Black and White photography.

After weeks of this going on, and feeling quite stressed about the whole thing, I realised my theme was pretty much staring me in the face. I looked at my photos again, realising that what I had already photographed contained the theme;

My Own Backyard.

Finally back on the right track, I began drawing and painting from photos again, just in time to start thinking about a final piece. That’s a story for another day.

4 artists in particular were key to the project, and the next three posts after this week will deal with each artist in turn, also showcasing their influence on my own photographs and paintings – as well as giving you insight into my process and thinking behind the project.

For now, you can find their work in the links below:

Beth Kientzle

Blu

Swoon

Robert Adams

Let me know what you think, and stay tuned! =]

Leave a Reply

